In Regulatory filing, GSK shareholders approve appointments of Oyelana, 3 others, declares N0.55 dividends


Shareholders of GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Nigeria Plc on Friday approved the appointment of Kunle Oyelana, Mark Pfister and Bosco Kirugi and Oludewa Edodo-Thorpe as Directors of the company, respectively, while it also approved payment of N0.55 dividend per share from the 2019 profits.

Oyelana was appointed the Managing director of the company effective from June 1, 2019, Kirrugi was elevated to the position of the Finance Director while Akshikar, the immediate past managing director was also appointed into to a new leadership role within the GSK Regional Vaccines organization.

In a regulatory filing with the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE) and signed by the company secretary, Uche Uwechia, the approval of the appointments of Oyelana, and the three others were one of the resolutions passed at the end of the 49th Annual General Meeting of the company held in Lagos.

“That pursuant to Section 249(2) of the Companies and Allied Matters Act …, the appointments of Mr. Kunle Oyelana, Mr. Mark Pfister and Mr. Bosco Kirugi and Mrs. Oludewa Edodo-Thorpe as Directors of the Company, respectively be and is hereby approved.”

The company said the payment of a cash dividend of N0.55 per share of 50 Kobo each from after-tax profit for the year ended December 31, 2019, to the Shareholders whose names appear in the company’s Register at the close of business on Monday, 22nd of June 2020.

Until his appointment, Oyelana was the Marketing & Commercial Excellence Director of the company and brought over twenty years of experience in the Pharmaceutical industry in GSK where he has held roles of increasing responsibilities across Africa and Asia.

He has a track record of success in the development and effective implementation of robust strategies with a keen focus on delivering.

The company also approved the remunerations of N2.10 million for the Chairman and the Non-Executive Directors, for the year ending 31st December 2020 and reelected Samuel Kuye and Basel Nizameddin to the board.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.