Buhari Names Train Stations after Osinbajo, Jonathan, Ekwueme, Awolowo, Tinubu, Saraki, Soyinka, Others


President Muhammadu Buhari Monday approved the naming of Train Stations on the Lagos-Ibadan corridor and others on the Itakpe-Ajaokuta /Aladja-Warri corridor after some prominent Nigerians.

Minister of Transportation, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi, disclosed this Monday in a statement by his ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe.

He said, “for the Lagos-Ibadan with extension to the Lagos Port Complex at Apapa railway station, the beneficiaries are Bola Ahmed Tinubu ( Apapa station), Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Raji Fashola ( Agege station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado station) and Prof.Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station).

According to him, “Others are Funmilayo Ransom Kuti (Papalanto station), Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), Segun Osoba (Olodo station), Ladoke Akintola (Omio-Adio station) Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station) and Chief Alex Ekwueme( Operation Control Centre).”

He added that, “For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the names are, Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Dr. Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta station), Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station), Brigadier General George Innih (Agenebode station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station) and Brig.Gen Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd), (Igbanke station).

“Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor station complex), Brigadier General David Ejoor (Abraka station), Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station) and Chief Mike Akhigbe (Railway village, Agbor).”

Amaechi noted that the deserving citizens had contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.